Skip to main content
Meteor Choice Music Prize

More Music

Meteor Choice Music Prize Tickets

0 Upcoming Events

We're sorry, but we couldn’t find any events

About Meteor Choice Music Prize

2015 sees the 10th anniversary of the Meteor Choice Music Prize and it goes from strength to strength as the shortlist for Irish Album of the Year 2014, in association with IMRO and IRMA, was announced this afternoon.

The overall winning Album of the Year will be selected by the judging panel at the Meteor Choice Music Prize Live Event at Vicar St, Dublin on Thursday, March 5th 2015.

The shortlist is as follows (artists listed in alphabetical order):

Aphex Twin – Syro (Warp)
Delorentos – Night Becomes Light (Universal Ireland)
The Gloaming – The Gloaming (Real World)
Hozier – Hozier (Rubyworks/Universal)
James Vincent McMorrow – Post Tropical (Faction)
Sinead O’ Connor – I’m Not Bossy, I’m The Boss (Nettwerk)
Damien Rice – My Favourite Faded Fantasy (Warner Music)
The Riptide Movement – Getting Through (Universal Ireland)
U2 – Songs of Innocence (Island)
We Cut Corners – Think Nothing (Delphi)

Lisa Comerford, Meteor’s Consumer Marketing Director, said “The celebration of ten years of Ireland’s finest albums, singers and songwriters is quite an achievement, and Meteor is delighted to continue to support the very best in home-grown music through the Meteor Choice Music Prize. The competition is always fierce for the coveted ‘Irish Album of the Year’ title and this year is certainly no different. As always, our esteemed judges have a difficult task ahead, and given the caliber of shortlist I certainly don’t envy their task!”

The Meteor Choice Music Prize event will be broadcast live on Today FM in a special four hour extended programme during the Paul McLoone show.

Once again, RTE 2 Television will broadcast a one-hour highlights programme of the Meteor Choice Music Prize on Sunday March 8th.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of IMRO and IRMA.

“2014 was an incredible year for Irish music.  A wealth of emerging talent made serious inroads in various international territories while taking the creative force of Irish music around the world and in so doing reaching new audiences each step of the way.  Each year, the Meteor Choice Music Prize recognises and champions some of our finest songwriters and IMRO is delighted to continue its longstanding association with this prestigious music prize– Victor Finn, IMRO Chief Executive.

“IRMA are once again delighted to be involved with the Choice Music Prize and to celebrate the success of the award. IRMA’s interest in the cultivation of new artists through its members is at the centre of the long-running partnership with the music prize”. - Willie Kavanagh, Chairman of IRMA.

HMV Xtra vision are retail partners of the Meteor Choice Music Prize and will feature special stands showcasing the Meteor Choice Music Prize nominees across their stores nationwide.